The Erase Project 2014

1

3

4

5

7

10

16

17

18

19

20

21

27

26

I love to share my photos on social media just like everyone out there. However these photos that were taken during my trip with my partner to Europe has lost their meanings after we broke up 2 months later from the return. I was left suddenly without any omens.

I decided to erase all his existence in my photos by using the Erase Tool in Adobe Photoshop. With a tablet and pen I rub him away bit by bit, the process was very irritating and provoked the sentimental part of me, especially when I have to enlarge the photos till a real size ratio, the action of erasing somehow made me feel like looking at him and touching him again.

Sharp edged empty spaces were left intentionally in every of these photos, clearly showing a series of images which were taken in those beautiful romantic European cities. The presence of the absence in contrast to the background setting added a little abruptness and helpless, where his existed but no longer a real person stay in my life.

This series has been exhibited in Knot, July 2104.

3 Comments

  1. Michael says:

    How very Stalinistic.

  2. Awesome idea! This is so great

Leave a Comment